Choose to study accounting with Contemporary training and we will provide you with skills and knowledge relevant to any business, which means you are free to choose which type of accountancy role and organisation you want to work for.

ACCA (Association of Chartered Certified Accountants)

ACCA is the global body for professional accountants. ACCA full qualification is ranked at level 8 under the SAQA National Qualifications Framework (NQF 8). The ACCA Qualification is designed to provide the accounting knowledge, skills and professional values which will deliver finance professionals who are capable of building successful careers across all sectors, whether they are working in the public or private sectors, practicing in accounting firms, or pursuing a career in business. It is the ideal course for anyone who wants to work with finance, taxation, auditing or even general accounting. The course is divided into two, the Fundamentals (F1-F9) and the Professional Level (P1-P7).

What it takes to be a Chartered Accountant with ACCA

It will take you 3-4 years on average to qualify as an ACCA member and you will need to complete:

Exams –          a minimum of five of 14 exams (nine are eligible for exemption*)

Experience – record 36 months’ experience in a relevant role

Ethics –           the Professional Ethics module.

9 of the exams which are part of the ACCA qualification will not need to be taken if you have other relevant qualifications rated at the same level by ACCA. Proof of your previous qualifications will be needed to claim exemptions.

Chartered Accountant – ACCA Member


Along the way to ACCA membership, you can achieve a number of vital and well recognised qualifications that can broaden available opportunities to you and makes your career progression easy. These qualifications will prove your knowledge and skills to employers and helps keep you on track and motivated. You can achieve:

  • A Diploma in Accounting and Business
  • An Advanced Diploma in Accounting and Business
  • A BSc (Hons) degree in Applied Accounting awarded by Oxford Brookes University


Any of the below

A Level

  • Three GCSEs and two A Levels in five separate subjects including maths and English or their equivalent are required for this accountancy qualification.

Senior Certificate – issued by the Matriculation Board

  • Completion of 6 subjects
  • 5 subjects passed in one sitting
  • Minimum aggregate mark of 45% is obtained
  • 3 subjects passed at Higher grade
  • 2 passes in a language (one at Higher Grade
  • Passes in English and Maths

National Senior Certificate – issued by the Matriculation Board

  • Students must take 6 subjects
  • 2 subjects must be languages
  • 1 subject must be Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy
  • 1 subject must be Life Orientation
  • 1 subject must be English
  • Students must achieve a grade 3 (40% ) or higher

South Africa Damelin Diploma

Any subject

South Africa Matriculation to University (Bachelor or Masters).

To check if your qualifications meet our minimum entry requirements, please see the minimum entrance requirements database.

ACCA Qualification Graduate-Entry Route

Graduates from an ACCA accredited university be eligible to claim exemption from some of the exams. You can apply for exemption from a maximum of nine exams at the Fundamentals level (F1- F9) of the ACCA Qualification. No exemptions are awarded for any of the Professional level exams.

ACCA Exemptions

Even if your qualifications are not from an accredited university or institution, you may still be eligible to claim some exemptions. To check the exemptions you are eligible to apply for, please visit: Exemptions search


ACCA registration can be done online and to complete the application you will need scanned certified copies all your qualifications, Identity document and passport style photographs. If you choose to apply online and upload your documents, you will need to complete your application by making your registration fee payment online.

** Each document file size must not exceed 2 MB and maximum of 20 files may be uploaded in any of the below formats

  • Plain text files (TXT format)
  • Microsoft Word (DOC format)
  • Microsoft Excel (XLS format)
  • Images (in BMP, GIF, JPEG or TIFF format)
  • Adobe PDF.

Comparison of CIMA and ACCA

Essentially, the ACCA and CIMA qualifications are very similar. However, there are a few differences between the two. The general focus of ACCA is on financial accounting, while the general focus of CIMA is on management accounting.

ACCA main emphasis is on the technical aspects of accounting and on professional practice. CIMA covers technical aspects of accounting in less detail, and places greater emphasis on management, corporate strategy and analysis. The focus is on broad business and management skills.